Board of Directors

*Denotes Executive Committee member

Board Chair

Christy Sandborg, MD

Pediatric Rheumatologist, Stanford University


Robert Colbert, MD, PhD *

Pediatric Rheumatologist, Bethesda, Maryland

*Dr. Colbert serves in his personal capacity

Vice President

Stacy Ardoin, MD*

Adult and Pediatric Rheumatologist, Nationwide Children’s Hospital


Jay Mehta, MD, MS*

Pediatric Rheumatologist, Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia

Past President

Emily von Scheven, MD, MAS*

Pediatric Rheumatologist, UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital

Harry Saal, PhD

Retrotope, Inc.

Carol Wallace, MD

Professor Emeritus, University of Washington

Leigh White, JD

Daniel H. Solomon, MD, MPH

Professor of Medicine and Chief of the Section Clinical Sciences

Brigham and Women’s Hospital

John Sundy, MD, PhD

Chief Medical Officer and Head of R&D, Seismic Therapeutic

Robert Fuhlbrigge, MD, PhD

Pediatric Rheumatologist, Children’s Hospital Colorado

Mathieu Nelessen

Chief Executive Officer

Steering Committee

Cross-Cutting Research Committee


Tova Ronis, MD

Children’s National Health System

Vice Chair

Peter Chira, MD

Rady Children’s Hospital San Diego

Early Investigators


Jordan Roberts, MD

Seattle Children’s Hospital

Vice Chair

Erin Treemarcki, DO

University of Utah

Juvenile dermatomyositis (JDM)


Susan Kim, MD, MMSc

UCSF Benioff Children’s Hospital

Vice Chair

Stacey Tarvin, MD

Riley Hospital for Children at Indiana University

Juvenile Idiopathic Arthritis (JIA)


Marinka Twilt, MD, PhD

University of Calgary

Vice Chair

Daniel Horton, MD, MSCE

Rutgers University



Susmita Kashikar-Zuck, PhD

Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center

Vice Chair

Jennifer Weiss, MD

Hackensack Meridian Children’s Health

Research Coordinator Network (RCN)


Joanne Drew, MFA

Nationwide Children’s Hospital

Vice Chair

Logan Lentini

University of Florida

Fellows Sub-Committee


Esraa Eloseily, MD

Cincinnati Children’s Medical Center


McKenzie Vater, MD

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE)


Andrea Knight, MD, MSCE

Hospital for Sick Children

Vice Chair

Laura Lewandowski, MS, MD

National Institutes of Health*

*Dr. Lewandowski will be serving in her personal capacity

Small Centers


Sheetal Vora, MD

The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Hospital Authority D/b/a Atrium Health

Vice Chair

Kathryn Phillippi-Cook, DO

Akron Children’s Hospital

Rare Disease Committee


Eveline Wu, MD

University of North Carolina Children’s Hospital

Vice Chair

Jessica Bloom, MD, MSCS

Children’s Hospital Colorado

Translational Research and Technology Committee (TRTC)


Lauren Henderson, MD, MSSc

Boston Children’s Hospital

Vice Chair

Anna Patrick, MD, PhD

Vanderbilt University Medical Center

CARRA Staff Information

Senior Director of Research Operations

Leslie Hanrahan

Director of Communications & Engagement

Kelly Mieszkalski, MA

Director of Partnerships & Patient Engagement

Vincent Del Gaizo

Associate Director of Research Operations

Karin Tse, MPH


Director of Finance and Administration

Stephen Witte

Director of Development

Steve Spinner


Grants Manager

Marcia Smith, DBA, MBA


Administrative Assistant

Ashley Hall

Database Administrator

Andy Rosado

Research Manager

Alyssia ParsonsMS

Executive Assistant

Bailey Parker