Phone: (414) 918-9822    Email: [email protected]

CARRA Names Grant Scientific Review Committee (SRC) Chair

We received an enthusiastic response to our call for SRC member applications and are excited to announce that Terry L. Moore, MD, FACP, FAAP, MACR, has been selected as the inaugural chair for CARRA’s SRC.  Dr. Terry Moore has been a faculty member at Saint Louis University School of Medicine and has served as a Director of the Division of Adult Rheumatology and Pediatric Rheumatology since 1983. He has risen to the position of Professor of Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, and Molecular Microbiology and Immunology at the Medical School. He received the award of Master of the American College of Rheumatology (ACR)/Research Education Foundation (REF), the highest honor bestowed on a member of the ACR/REF. He is presently one of 10 Rheumatology Division Director’s across the country to be named as a member of the ACR Director’s Task Force/Director’s Special Committee to guide the ACR in the upcoming years.

Dr. Moore participates in patient care, teaching, and research at Saint Louis University.  He recently held an RO1 Research Award with Dr. Anil Chauhan through 2017 from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) on “T-cell Activation by Immune Complexes and Complement in Autoimmunity.” He has also received NIH funding in the past including a Clinical Investigator Award and a Research Career Development Award.  He has published over 196 full-length manuscripts and 231 abstracts on multiple topics, mainly on juvenile arthritis, complement studies, regulatory T-cells, and systemic lupus. He also holds multiple research awards in juvenile arthritis and systemic lupus from private foundations. He has trained through the Saint Louis University fellowship program, 69 rheumatologists of which 19 are full time in Academic Rheumatology Units. He is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians and a Fellow of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Dr. Moore has been an active CARRA member since 2006. He is an ACR member and was the Chairman of Study Section C of the ACR/REF for three years (2009-2012) for basic research grants.  He is also presently a member of three NIH study sections. He has served also as an ACR/REF Pediatric Rheumatology Visiting Professor at two universities.  He has received the Heartland Chapter of the Lupus Foundation award for Medical Achievement in 2013 and for the Cardinal Glennon Lupus Clinic in 2015. He has been a member of the Heartland/Eastern Missouri Chapter of the Arthritis Foundation Board of Directors since 1984 and previously received in 2000 the Jane Freund Harris Innovator in Arthritis Care Award from the Foundation. In 2015, he received the Leon Neuman Distinguished Service Award from the Missouri Chapter of the Heartland Chapter of the Arthritis Foundation.

The full roster for CARRA’s Scientific Review Committee will be announced soon.